real early last year. Kept them watered all summer, they looked real
happy and put on quite a bit of growth. The central leaders range
from 6 to 8-feet high and I guess the total width of the tree branches
are about 3-foot diameter, now.

I have no previous experience with fruit trees but did alot of research
about pruning. In late winter (a few months ago) I pruned branches
that were obviously growing in a bad direction but I was shy about
knocking the young trees back too much, thinking that they still need
alot of leaves to wake up and get going in Spring.

Last night, I checked on the trees for the first time this Spring. They
look very healthy to me but I have a couple of questions that I hope
you guys can help me with..........

a)
There are alot of blossom buds that have not yet opened. Should
I cut all of these off so the trees dont waste energy on fruit this year?
Hand Plant Flower Leaf Branch

b)
Two of the trees have central leaders that are really going up fast
and look like a whip antenna, should I whack these off (this coming
winter, while dormant) so the tree has more of a globe shape?
Cloud Sky Atmosphere Plant Natural landscape
Hand Plant Flower Leaf Branch
Cloud Sky Atmosphere Plant Natural landscape

Thanks for any advice.

-NC

·
Registered
12,459 Posts
I have never grown a pear tree Northcountry but I have grown "a lot" of apple trees over the past 27 years and I am guessing training/pruning is pretty much the same.

1) Yes - you want to remove any fruit/blossoms your young trees try to grow the first 2-3 years so the nutrients go towards growing and strengthening the tree rather than producing fruit. You will get fruit soon enough if you train them properly.