Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thought I would post some photos of woodcock banding this spring. Given this is my first year on my own, we were able to band a fair number of chicks. The first two photos are of different hens sitting on their chicks. If you look closely you can see how the wings on both hens are splayed.

The next two photos are of what was under the hens. If you notice you'll see a couple of the chicks are on their backs. There's nothing wrong with these chicks, they just freeze in the position they land when the hen takes off.

These were the only two we found on their chicks, but here's a photo of one that was sitting in grass with her chicks. She was about 20 feet from a thicket. This was another 4 chick brood.

These chicks weren't too difficult to find, but they can be very difficult to spot. I know I missed a few in the broods I banded. They have a tendency to snuggle up to and/or under things and blend in very good with the cover.

This is a picture of a successful nesting. The eggs are hatched length wise. Looks like a three chick brood, but we only found two. Maggie was pointing the nest. I knew she wasn't getting scent from the nest so the hen had to be nearby. She was about 10 feet on the other side of the nest. The hen normally would move her chicks from the nest area soon after hatching but here she couldn't even though these chicks were a few days old since she had nested on a small island.

Here's just a few photos of me banding some chicks of different ages.

The real star of the show is Maggie. Without her and Splash it wouldn't be possible. I'm out of room so I'll do a followup post of the dogs.

·
Registered
3,716 Posts
Great Pictures!!

Thanks for your hardwork and donation to our sport and science. I need to get out and help some folks with this next year.