Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
455 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This has been one of the worst years that I can remember, seems like reports are coming from everywhere about seeing fish but not getting many to hit. I have watched hundreds of fish on my camera on two seperate trips that just would not bite anything. Have tried minnows, waxworms, red spikes, and wigglers. All on tear drops, jigs, and small plain hooks. Tried jigging Rapalas, Ken's hooks, and spoons.

I have actually hit fish on the nose with wigglers and had them slowly swim off!!!

Any theories?

·
Registered
736 Posts
I have been icefishing the lake for some forty years or so and I used to wonder the same thing. Some years are like that and if you figured this out you would be the richest man if the whole world with all the money you could make with your secret. You would even put the FaceBook guy to shame. What I think it is,,, it is just nature's way of keeping things even and to balance things over time.

What I have done and what has best worked for me is to buy a spear. At least that works on St Clair in Jan and Feb when the water is clear. But............We all know your pain and suffer with you.

Bob

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
This has been one of the worst years that I can remember, seems like reports are coming from everywhere about seeing fish but not getting many to hit. I have watched hundreds of fish on my camera on two seperate trips that just would not bite anything. Have tried minnows, waxworms, red spikes, and wigglers. All on tear drops, jigs, and small plain hooks. Tried jigging Rapalas, Ken's hooks, and spoons.

I have actually hit fish on the nose with wigglers and had them slowly swim off!!!

Any theories?
you need to lay the wiggler down, and it has to be ALIVE....they will ONLY suck if off the bottom when they are that neutral.

·
Administrator
17,511 Posts
Funny you ask, but I was thinking the same thing last night.