Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
860 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
when do the start fishin for white bass. I have never doen it but want to give it a try this year.

flydunker

·
Registered
2,068 Posts
The white bass will start running when the water temp inches up towards the 53-55 degree range and will peak when it hits the 58-60 mark...

·
Registered
51 Posts
Connor4501 said:
The white bass will start running when the water temp inches up towards the 53-55 degree range and will peak when it hits the 58-60 mark...
im new to northern fishing. whats a white bass? ive always cought smalls annd largemouths. but ive cought some here last year and this year that are clearly of the bass family. but are flatter than a smallmouth. is this a white bass?

·
Registered
2,792 Posts
White Bass are shaped like a Crappie - silver/ with Striped Bass type markings on thier sides. LOTS of fun to catch ! C-man

·
Registered
9,776 Posts
white bass look like little striped bass (or stripers). wipers are actually crosses between striped bass and white bass.

·
Registered
159 Posts
ykturtle1975 said:
im new to northern fishing. whats a white bass? ive always cought smalls annd largemouths. but ive cought some here last year and this year that are clearly of the bass family. but are flatter than a smallmouth. is this a white bass?
A white bass is a true bass, like a stripper. The fish we call black bass (largemouth or smallmouth) are a sunfish.

bentrod

·
Registered
1,031 Posts
Man those guys are fun to fish for. Can be non stop action on just about any bait. Does anyone eat them. I tried them, and my family ate them and liked them as good as walleye!

·
Registered
41 Posts
aquaticsanonymous said:
Man those guys are fun to fish for. Can be non stop action on just about any bait. Does anyone eat them. I tried them, and my family ate them and liked them as good as walleye!
Where do you guys go white bass fishing?

Thank you.

·
Registered
3,870 Posts