Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been flyfishing for stream trout for about 3 years now. Started out with a borrowed 9' 6 wt. rod and was pretty comfortable with it. Just recently returned it to my buddy and need to buy a rod. I fish a variety of size waters, from the Au Sable near Mio to the smaller Rifle River. Like to fish everything from medium size streamers, to nymphs and dries, depending on conditions. I guess what I need is a good "compromise" rod that can handle "most" conditions. Cannot decide between a 4 wt. or 5 wt. and which length. I would rather have a rod that is slightly too heavy than too light, but my friend insists a 4 wt. is better. Any opinions or suggestions are appreciated.

·
Registered
580 Posts
5 wt in a 8'6 foot. Still can fish the smaller streams but is big enough for a nice 20+ incher on the hex. I just finished building a 7 foot 3 wt. for the small streams. But my go to rod is still my Thomas and Thomas 6wt -8'6" footer. It is a little big for the small trout, but I feel real good about hooking the Big ones with this. Of course I am a hex addict and will fish every night during this hatch and chase them in multiple streams.

paul

·
Registered
7,596 Posts
If I was to only have one stick it would be the 5wt. The 4wt will make it dang near impossible to toss wooly buggers and other large streamers.

4wt definetly more fun with the smaller flies but the versatility of the 5wt is the deciding factor with me.

·
Premium Member
9,775 Posts
Since you seemed comfortable with the 6wt that you borrowed I would stick with that. It will handle all flies and most if not all Michigan fish. It's the smallest I would go with for steelhead but too small for salmon. It should handle any Michigan trout and could be used in a pinch for bass and possibly pike.

·
Registered
596 Posts