Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6,585 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting into bowhunting, and I'm getting all kinds of advice. Muzzy's are industry standard, but I was told Crimson Talons are the way to go. What do you use? And why? :confused:

·
Registered
2 Posts
As a longtime avid archer and bowtech, I've been fortunate to have the ability to field test numerous types and styles of broadheads. Honestly, with the broadheads that are available on the market these days, there's quite a few you can't go wrong with. I have a small handful I personally think are at the top of the list, but I always go with the Muzzy. Their just darn good broadheads that fly and penetrate excellent, but that's just my preference.

But regardless of which type and style of broadhead you go with, remember that the broadhead is only an extension of your arrow and bow and each of these elements must be properly tuned and calibrated together to ensure proper flight. In other words, the best broadhead in the world isn't worth a darn without proper tuning and calibration to your complete setup. Oh yea, and lots of practice! Good luck and enjoy.

( )
o o Just passing through >>>------------>
-

·
Registered
1,474 Posts
the best broadhead in the world isn't worth a darn without proper tuning and calibration to your complete setup. Oh yea, and lots of practice!
I think Gutpile Nile is probably right. Probably more in the tuning and practice than anything.......But, I'm sure no pro, and there are alot of archers on this site who reeeeeeeeeally seem to know what they're talkin' about, so take my opinion with a grain of salt.

For what it's worth, The best results I've gotten out of a fixed blade broadhead was a 100 grain Thunderhead. Tried Muzzy's one year and F*@%&#g hated them.