Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been hunting turkeys for two years now in the spring, each year I get the over the counter tag. When I get in the woods the toms are with hens and I cant pull them away. Last year I did have one come in to my calls, but not close enough, I bought a bunch of how to dvds and lots of calls and practice before the season, so I'm pretty sure my calling is ok. My question is, would I be better off trying for a earlier hunt or just stick with the over the counter tag, and revise my calling. I relize that it wont be like the movies and have them running in, but it would be nice to put in all that time and have more than one some what close. Any advice would be great.

·
Registered
1,280 Posts
Matt,

My dad and I hunted the 234(OTC) hunt last year and both got a bird. I guess that it depends on the area you hunt and if you are hunting in an area that is pressured or not. We hunt in an area that is not pressured very much but out of four guys four birds were killed, 2 early during the first and second hunt and the other two killed in May during the 234(OTC) hunt. It may help to get and earlier hunt if you are hunting state land or a pressured area.

Good luck this spring. Hope your luck changes this year.

-Psebuckmaster-

·
Registered
4,262 Posts
I agree with Psebuckmaster. The late hunt is not bad if you have privet property to hunt where the birds are not pressured.
I like the late hunt, because the hens are laying by then. The hens will leave the toms to go lay in the late moring/early afternoon. If you stay out later, you can call in a tom looking for a little on the side...;) .