Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
I am a newbie looking to get into archery/bow hunting. (And pheasant hunting and walleye fishing. LOL! But for the sake of this thread I'm sticking to bow and crossbow questions ;))
[/COLOR]
I have very little experience shooting a bow and have never fired a crossbow

I know that I shoot lefthanded

Would use primarily for target/range

Eventually would want to hunt deer with something that could be used either ground hunting or in a stand

Question is, based on these "specs", what would be a better option? Should I look to use a bow or a crossbow? I guess once I know that I can focus on what kind to get (and there's already some great posts that help with that.)

Just wanted to get some thoughts!
Thanks!

·
Premium Member
9,594 Posts
Depends on what you're looking to experience. I would say start off with a recurve.:)

·
Premium Member
21,607 Posts
That is going to depend more on you rather than what anyone can say in here. Take the time to shoot different bows, recurve, compound bow, crossbow and see which one fits your sense of what feels right. To me no bow looks better than a recurve. I haven't shot one in years and could shoot instinctively. To me a recurve not only looks good, but feels good. Saying that my bowhunting was all done with a compound bow.

·
Registered
16,457 Posts
That's like asking people what type of lunchmeat you should buy.:lol::lol: Get out there and try everything you can and make the decision on what makes you happy.;)

·
Registered
5,660 Posts
I would ask around the ladies and see who may be a lefty and perhaps they would be kind enough to let you shoot their bow. Check out a few archery shops and try them all out and see what you like best.
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
153 Posts