Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,992 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So apparently you can use a cordless drill for an auger?

What would be needed for the blade wise? I have a good spare cordless drill and would be interested to see how it works out.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Use a hand auger minus the upper half. They sell all kinds of adapters to adapt the drill to the auger, or make one. Keep your batteries as warm as possible too.

·
Registered
1,992 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So I have a Mora Strikemaster 8" and just take the handle part off?

For the adapter, would a general store like Harbor Freight, or Home Depot have something for that? What exactly do I need? How do you keep it from spinning all over the ice (Just holding the drill seems like it would spin around)

Also, would a 12v drill work? Or what kind would work out well?

·
Premium Member
10,804 Posts
Search "cordless drill" and your find all kinds of threads on this subject.

Many have tried it and gave reports on their success, the buttom line is unless you have a high end cordless drill (24V+) with newer/fresh batteries it wont be worth your time or money to convert. ;)

·
Registered
311 Posts
i have a 19.2 volt drill and run a 6in auger with it works really well like mentioned above keep the battery warm . with the ice thickness as it is now i can get between 14 to 18 holes. if you know where you want to fish i find it best to drill your holes as soon as you get there.:D

·
Registered
1,992 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

·
Registered
1,992 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Search "cordless drill" and your find all kinds of threads on this subject.

Many have tried it and gave reports on their success, the buttom line is unless you have a high end cordless drill (24V+) with newer/fresh batteries it wont be worth your time or money to convert. ;)