Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all I would like to say hello to everyone on this site. I just signed up and this is my first time posting. What I find unbelieveable is how dead Lake Huron is! I am from the east side of the state but I made of few trips to the west this year and did well. I fished off the walls at Port Sanilac and Lexington the last couple of days and did not even see one jump. This lake used to be teaming with life. It should be prime, water is cold and it's October? Lake Huron has really turned into the dead sea!

·
Registered
1,671 Posts
Welcome aboard, Bigmounts! However I must strongly disagree with your post. I am originally from Alpena and make it over there quite often. I have my boat I fish Lake Michigan with, and fish with my buddies on Lake Huron when I go "home" to Alpena. We fish the tournaments, and do quite well. I've been over there twice to fish along the Lake Huron coast line this fall and out of about three hours of fishing between two of us we were a total of six for nine. I've found when casting, you only get about an hour and a half window of "prime time" and then you might as well pack it up. People talk about there not being fish in Lake Huron, I disagree. Is there less fish? Sure, but I think there is a rebound on the horizon.

Here is a 16lb salmon the "Disorderly Conduct" team caught and took 2nd place in the Rogers City tournament in 2007.

Here is a Labor Day weekend King. Sorry, it's just a head shot. Had to prove to someone that I will use J-Plugs. Even though I'm not the one that set that rod. :lol:

Here is a 8lber in the net from two weeks ago...

And here is a couple laying on the pier from the other trip this fall..

So, they are there...Persistence and determination will put them in your net. Good luck out there...PM me if you need any info on techniques we use.

·
Registered
4,031 Posts