Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am in my second year of going after coyotes I have a e caller and mouth calls I can get yotes to respond but I can not get them to come any place in the open iv done all the different calls but no luck I hunt Mid East Michigan lots of heavy brush and trees but also large open farm land

·
Registered
737 Posts
How long are you on stand? A lot of people are waiting 1 hour. I also heard wait 10 to 15 min after you stop calling, sometimes the quiet will peek their curiosity.

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Iv done 10-15 sits hours sit lots of vocals silence just can’t get them to break cover

·
Registered
288 Posts
Questions. Are you extremely stealthy approaching your stand/set location? As you approach is your scent blowing thru the area that you think the coyotes are? Are you "playing" the wind, clear view/shooting lane downwind? Remember to shoot before they are directly downwind. When you call, are you asking the coyotes to get out of their comfort zone? In other words, are you asking them to go places that they don't normally go? Are you asking them to go out into open fields at noon? I have killed more coyotes in fields 1-100 yards out than in the woods. BUT... not midday. At first and last light, and these are secluded fields that they normally travel. Do you sit as still as possible on stand, or do you mimic a bobble head doll as you look around? o_O How's your volume? Do you start very soft and slowly work it up a bit? Just a few questions. :)

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #6