Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year trying to bow hunt, and I am having a little trouble.

To be honest, I am not really interested in taking a deer during this season, but mainly wanted to have an excuse to be outside earlier in the year. That is unless a big buck comes through, then I'll give it a try.

My problem is the area where I am hunting is thick cover, and kind of wet and swampy. There are a couple of good places to hunt, but you can't get a shot of more than 15-20 yards. Saturday morning I went out and had some doe come under my blind, but they were so close everytime I would try to stand up (I was going to see if I could draw on them with out them noticing me), they would get real nervous and run away.

What do you do when the deer are so close to you? I know that this happens all of the time to people, but how do you get up and get a shot off when the forest is silent and you need to stand up to take a shot. Part of the problem is that the gound is always wet, so they deer don't make much noise when coming in, so they are on top of me before I know it.

I bought a ladder stand, so I can only get up 15ft. Is there anything I could do other than just standing up the whole time? Do any of you ever shoot from a seated position?

Also part of my problem is that my arrow makes a noise on the two points of the arrow rest when I draw it. Is there any advise that will help me out with this?

Thanks alot.
Utahan

·
Registered
20,126 Posts