Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been planting seedlings for the past two years on my property.
Year 1: very high mortality rate (partially due to my error)
Year 2: better success rate so far
I decided to plant some 2-3' bare root pines last spring as an experiment.
Unfortunately most of them died. When I received the trees, I noticed that most of the roots were cut off when they were dug up.
Has anyone had success planting bare root trees (other than seedlings)
If so, can you share any ideas. I'd like to get something established asap.
The larger evergreens were planted as a screen for my sanctuary.
My neighbor likes to shine his spotlight into my sanctuary every night as I usually have plenty of deer hanging out in there.
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

·
Registered
26,599 Posts
Don't feel alone, I lost a lot of trees this year. It was way too dry towards the end and they ALL died.

·
Premium Member
7,379 Posts
trees I have had any luck with are white pine seedlings - everyting else I have planted is history -

But - the white pine for some reason have out lasted weed invasion and I mean serious invasion - in fact we could hardly find them this year - pines where only about 18" tall and the weed around 48" - but I think that the weeds kept them from being 'brows' from deer and likly saved them. Not to mention the water/moisture retention of the thick weeds.

Anyway - white pine - they sure took a lot neglect from me and are alive today -

ferg....

·
Registered
3,082 Posts
The last 5 years all I plant is 1 to 2 foot transplants. I also plant some 2 -3 foot speckled alder and norway spruce with good results.

1, order and have the the trees arrive early, to get all the early moisture in the ground. I have my trees arrive the first week of April, all planted by mid April. I live in saginaw county. Northern areas, have later dates to make sure ground is thawed.