Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,930 Posts
Mainly do skeet, but the trap range is 75yds away and hit that sometimes. I go to Washtenaw Sportsman Club.

·
Premium Member
5,603 Posts
I shoot winter league at Kent County Conservation League. Not hard core but it's good fun.

·
Registered
6,610 Posts
did it for 3 years. Went 27 yards my first year. 200x200 my first year and had enough. Lots of fun good people. Used to shoot from Linden SC.

·
Registered
1,483 Posts
First started shooting trap on an extremely casual basis decades ago when I lived in the Detroit area and used two different BT-99s. Then I started shooting sporting clays every weekend (just for fun) so the 99s' soon went on the For Sale rack. When I moved to west Michigan I started shooting skeet at a local club (not registered) and while it was fun I really couldn't get into it. A couple of years ago I bought an old style BT-99 and to support the club joined ATA and shot my first registered birds. Really enjoyed the hell out of it. Sold/bought in progression BT-99/ SKB Trap Combo (O/U-Unsingle) new BT-99/ Superposed Broadway Trap. Really liked the Broadway Trap but with 32" O/U barrels it was a lot of gun. I have no interest in shooting trap doubles so why two barrels? Nonetheless shot the gun quite well.

To make a short story long a guy at the club bought a BT-99 two barrel set a few months ago. I asked if I could shoot it. Broke ten birds straight (didn't shoot a full line) and have never shot a gun that seemed to fit me so well. Jokingly said to him: "If you ever want to sell it give me first ..." Surprisingly he replied: "I'll sell it to you for what I've got into it." Next day it was mine and the Superposed is on the For Sale rack. Can't really justify two trap guns.