Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
5,789 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone tell me if there is good Lake Trout fishing on Torch Lake? I heard that the lake is or was stocked, but I have never tried it before. I have a 22 salmon boat and was wondering if I could just use the same set up as I do on Lake MI. Riggers, Lead, Dipsy's ect. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
5,812 Posts
Torch Lake has very good lake trout fishing, also whitefish and atlantic salmon, but you've got to know how to fish that lake, it's a tough one. Very few people who have never fished it before even get a hit until they've been out there more times than they can remember.

It hasn't been stocked in years for lake trout. Never stocked for whitefish, and atlantic salmon stocking was halted last year...it's much easier to catch lake trout out of Grand Traverse Bay, and access to that is right there.

·
Registered
5,789 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Does anyone know if there is a guide service on torch?

·
Registered
5,812 Posts
There used to be one charter service, but there's not much interest in that sort of thing on Torch, so...he went to Frankfort. Lives there now.

·
Registered
5,789 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
My girlfriends Dad has a place on Torch and he has hinted many times that he would like to go fishing for the lakers on Torch. He is not a fisherman and has never fished for them. If I drag my boat 3 hours up there, I want to do my best to boat some fish for him. He was talking about sometime in June. Any advice?

·
Registered
510 Posts
Get a map of the lake. find points with steep drops to 80' - 120' deep. Jig with a swedish pimple or white tube jig. If you are going to troll with downriggers then fish the 65'-110' range with medium to small size spoons in various colors. Do not exceed 2.2 mph. Troll along the edges of drop offs. Being tight to structure is the key.

·
Registered
5,789 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·