Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year spearing and Ive read around online quite a bit. I plan on hitting a body of mid michigan water that I know is infested with pike and also lsc for perch.

As I am completely new, just sending a requests for a few tips that "I wish I knew" from when you started spearing.

Also I am a big wood carver so anyone who carves and paints also wondering if they have a specific wood preference or use special paint or finish that waterproofs. Thanks all!

·
Registered
2,558 Posts
my suggestion is to go threw the many previous threads for your answers its there somewhere and if you dont find it then ask again.. as for the decoy questions go to the mdha site and mike has all the answers for decoy making.. to get you started.

·
Darkhouse Ninja
5,599 Posts
This is my first year spearing and Ive read around online quite a bit. I plan on hitting a body of mid michigan water that I know is infested with pike and also lsc for perch.

As I am completely new, just sending a requests for a few tips that "I wish I knew" from when you started spearing.

Also I am a big wood carver so anyone who carves and paints also wondering if they have a specific wood preference or use special paint or finish that waterproofs. Thanks all!
Use white cedar, and seal the wood good before you paint and after.
Check water clarity before you cut a large hole!

Sent from my iPhone using Michigan Sportsman mobile app

·
Registered
3,986 Posts