Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am new to pike fishing with tip ups. i just got 3 of them with the briaded line on them...i got trebble hooks on them...med size. should i put wieghts on them or just leave it as that? steel leaders? ill be using chubs so i just wanted to know cause i want to start learning about tip ups to pike fish. i did it one time yesterday and a guy had it set up for me. i thought it was fun as heck.....please let me know ur ideas or tips on this

·
Registered
37 Posts
I'm not an expert, but mine goes braided line, steel leader that has 2 trebles on it (I bought it that way and it is specifically for tip-ups, but I forget what its called) then a couple feet up from that I have some weight on it

On another one I have the same thing, but it goes braided, swivel, shiny spoon looking thing (I know, technical jargon right) then the steel leader with trebles, the guy at the bait shop told me about this set up, he said the spoon works as an attractor, but I don't know if it makes a difference or not
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
757 Posts
Go to12-20lb mono for your leaders. You'll get more bites, all i run is 8lb florocarbon andI haven't had one bite me off yet this year. I only run one spiltshot about 8" up from the hook, always an octopus hook.

·
Registered
25 Posts