Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, time for the ignorant question of the week! And since I'm feeling inspired to think change is at least a possibility due to NorthJeff's post from Mr. Ozoga, I'll go ahead and ask. What exactly is the NRC's purpose and what benefits were they supposed to provide when they were created. I have limited knowledge of the subject because I think when they started I was about 12, and I don't want to say what I personally think because I don't want to bias the responses.

-GB

·
Registered
3,439 Posts
The NRC was supposed to insure that decisions were made based on sound science(proposal G) without any political influences. Unfortunately, it seems to have only made things worse. The NRC seems to listen to the groups that make the most noise rather than what the science indicates.

·
Registered
8,116 Posts
Some of us our making quite a bit of noise!!;)

Basically, the DNR completes their scientific studies, research, etc., and makes their recommendations to the NRC. The NRC then makes the regulatory decisions that effect our wildlife and habitat, based on the recommendations of the DNR, and whatever else influences their decision. I may be wrong, but I was under the impression that Proposal G dictated the NRC would make their decisions based on scientific research and fact. What has happened though is that SOCIAL science has definately crept into the equation, and that allows the NRC an even broader range of decisions they can reach, influenced by a multitude of other factors besides actual biological scientific research and fact. The NRC commisioners are also appointed by the current governer and need no biological expertise or background in professional management.

I don't know how much they are paid, or even if they are paid, but they basically dictate the direction our wildlife resources take, for better or for worse, based on their decisions.

·
Registered