Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5,812 Posts
I wonder how many deer they've locked in there, that won't be able to get out now...and will only cause more problems in the future, especially if we have a couple of each sex in there. I have a copy of an interoffice confidential memo here that was written on the third day of the operation-stating that at least four more deer had been seen. Apparently, only one more deer was killed, and then the operation was apparently ended, I'm sure due to pressure and public opinion of this entire mess...so that leaves at least three more deer in there somewhere?? hmmm...so, will it have to be done again? Probably...

As a journalist, I stayed on the sidelines of this one, but I kept in close contact with a lot of people involved in it. I also talked to a number of people who live right there on Airport Rd., and people who commute back and forth through there every day.

I have no doubt that the deer on the airport, over the past 30 years or so, ever since the airport was built, have caused problems, and something needed to be done. But what I objected to was how this whole thing was presented to the public. It was a public relations disaster.

It was printed in the RE on Monday that the kill was scheduled...after the public uproar that ensued, it was printed a day or so later in the same paper that the airport had agreed to consider other options.

Their mistake was NOT announcing that those options had been considered, but decided against. There was no attempt to explain why the deer couldn't be moved due to state rules regarding TB, etc...they just moved in with the silencers, the lights, and the automatic rifles less than 48 hours later...

The whole thing was very, very poorly handled, and to a lot of people, it smacked of Big Brother, Big Government, Gestapo tactics...and not just the anti-hunters. A number of ardent deer hunters felt the same way.