Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have never used a Fly Rod before, nor do I have much experience steel head fishing, and none float fishing for steel head. So don't laugh at me too much, lol.

I was watching a video of guy swing fishing a nymph .He said his goal was to give the fish a sideways view of the fly, to take a Radial slice of the run and if nothing hit , take two steps down and repeat. That seems to contradict what I heard from the Centerpin fishing video, where the objective was a long drift along a seam. They said the benefit of the center pin was a free drift, a spinning reel would disrupt the drift and cause sideways movement which the fish would see as unnatural and avoid. The guy swinging flies was casting down to the fish, from upstream. Is the difference cause the float guys have spawn or a jig ? Can you use a fly with a float ?

·
Registered
45 Posts