Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there any value to deer, planting a small food plot of sun flowers. This would be in 1/4 acre plot right behind my house. If so, any recommendations of any other seed to add to this plot.

Really stupid question. Can you frost seed the sunflowers in the spring???? What type of seeds do you recommend ???? Can you just use the same seed you would use for feeding the birds ???? The plot has been Buck Forage Oats for the past two years. I have limed and fertilized the soil the past few years as well. I would like to plant clover in the fall.

Thanks. I'm a rookie at food plots and would welcome all the help I can get.

Appreciate it.

Matt

·
Registered
273 Posts
Good questions. I was thinking about doing the same this year. Not necessarily to feed the deer but I thought my girls might like it. One year, I took the sunflower seeds out of the birdfeeder and planted them. It was about 30. They all came up pretty good. I was surprised.

·
Registered
19,090 Posts
Like many other green plants, deer like young sunflowers. It may take a year or two for them to develop a taste for the young plants, but when they do they will feed quite a bit on the plants. Not like alfalfa or beans, but a good amount. I have never seen any sign of deer eating mature plants or seeds. You can plant the seeds in the late spring(June 1st) by themselves or mix with buckwheat which the deer will eat also. Plants that mature will provide good food for birds. Pheasants Forever has a nice mixture of corn, sorghum, buckwheat, & sunflowers that is good food & cover for birds & deer.

L & O

·
Registered
164 Posts
Finnlander- Have you considered a few soybeans with the sunflowers? These soybeans would be only for greens-not bean production. Then take them out when you are ready to put in the clover. Or just plant the soybeans alone.

·
Registered
26,565 Posts