Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am purchasing a .17 for coyote hunting soon. What is the best cheaper .17 out there? I have no experience with them. Any info from experiences would be appreciated.

·
Registered
2,133 Posts
If your talking rim-fire,you would be much better-off with a 22mag for coyote hunting.

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I was thinking rimfire so i could use it at night. I thought the .17s were more accurate at longer ranges than a 22mag?

·
Registered
2,133 Posts
Neither one is a long-range coyote gun.When hunting at night your shots will be close anyways.Imo,you would be better off with a shot-gun,but if your going to use a rifle,go with the 22mag.

·
Registered
97 Posts
You'll get alot of "the 22 mag is better" and the "no the 17 is better". We shoot alot of yotes out here (no closed season), and have used both with success. 22 mag ammo is cheaper than .17 HMR ammo but the .17 HMR is much flatter and hold's in the wind much better (we get alot of wind around these part's). As far as rifle's, I have very good luck with the Savage bolt action .17 HMR's. Got two of them. Bought them for 225.00 a piece with BSA Sweet .17 vari. scope's. Ruger is my choice for .22 mag's with a bolt action. Alot more spendie than the .17. My first choice is the .17 HMR with a 22-250 for the longer shot's. Whatever you decide between the two you really can't go wrong with.

·
Registered
13,297 Posts
I am purchasing a .17 for coyote hunting soon. What is the best cheaper .17 out there? I have no experience with them. Any info from experiences would be appreciated.

Go to the sports shop and actually look at a 17 bullet......tiny little thing....better off with 22 mag......can a 17 do it yes sometimes....far more knock down power with the heavier 22 mag bullet....

·
Registered
386 Posts