Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
834 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1995 Fishmaster Star Craft 190 and My steering is getting really hard to turn. Also my shifting lever is getting hard to shift. So, I have a delema coming up in August. I want to take the
boat over to Manistee for salmon fishing, but don't want to fight with the problem. So I either spend the money to fix the steering and shifter, or I leave the boat home and spend the money on a couple charters? I guess I am asking about what the cost would be and where do I take it to?
After all it is a pretty old boat and it probably needs to be changed. I know a couple charters will cost around a $1000, so if it cost that much to fix it then I might wait till next year and just do the chaters this year !?

·
Registered
2,681 Posts
Seems like a fix you could do yourself probably with the help of a friend. I know my buddy changed his a couple years ago and the same issues were fixed. He's not mechanical at all but had one of our buddies help that is. He admitted it was sort of a PITA but I'm pretty sure only cost a couple hundred or less and a couple hours and a few beers later it was done. What made his issue more feasible was the fact that we rebuilt the whole inside a few years ago and pretty much left everything accessible which may not be the case in your boat as I'm not sure. His boat is a 22' cuddy style boat with an inboard 165hp Mercruiser as I remember. I'm confident if he can do it than most anyone can, lol.

Reactions: textox and bellkey

·
Banned
10,812 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Guessing an OB? Before you replace steering, disconnect from motor and make sure the motor pivots freely. That pivot tube can get pretty gummed up if not greased.
If u have to change the steering arm, it's pretty easy depending on how sharp the bend is and if you have the room to remove it w/o moving the motor.