Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All, I am new to hunting and have really enjoyed the 3 deer seasons I've hunted. The first 2 years were rifle only, due to my budget only allowing me to purchase a few things at a time. This year I am able to hunt bow season also. I hunt state land and try to scout potential areas as much as possible. In all my scouting I have come up on one feeder and one other blind. Each time I turned around and tried to walk out the same route I came in and then looked for a different area.
In the name of courtesy and safety, how far away from another blind is far enough? For my own safety I want to be well out of range, even over a ridge from another hunter, especially during gun season.

On a side note and novice opinion, I feel that having to remove a popup blind daily is ridiculous. How is a popup blind any different than a semi-permanent structure. Trying to walk into an area in the dark, even after it's been well scouted, setting up a blind and brushing it in can be noisy. I feel that a blind is a blind and the materials it's made of is irrelevant. I try to brush in well enough that the blind is mostly concealed. I could probably hunt the spot with just the brush and without the blind, but I like the comfort of being out of the wind and rain making a longer sit possible. I try to sit from dark to dark.

·
Registered
4,708 Posts
Hello All, I am new to hunting and have really enjoyed the 3 deer seasons I've hunted. The first 2 years were rifle only, due to my budget only allowing me to purchase a few things at a time. This year I am able to hunt bow season also. I hunt state land and try to scout potential areas as much as possible. In all my scouting I have come up on one feeder and one other blind. Each time I turned around and tried to walk out the same route I came in and then looked for a different area.