Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at some Thuja Green Giants for screening. I have searched posts about it but they all seem to be numerous years old. The old timers that planted this did it grow like expected (2'-3') per year and provide a good screen. I have property in the thumb area and have planted norway's, white spruce, white pine and miscanthus giant. Looking at something a little different and fast but just don't want to waste money if useless.

Many county districts have there spring order forms online now.

Old timers I am not referring to age, but length of time you have been doing habitat work.
Thanks for any info from a newbie, but oldie.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Steve for post was not sure with no responses if I did it right seeing I am a newbie to this.

Trying to find out if they do grow 2'-3' as companies state, before I invest money into something that is completely false.

·
Registered
631 Posts
Thujas for me have not been that great. My first crack resulted in deer pulling them out aft snowmelt of first year. 2nd planting is doing ok...this is yr 4 i think and some put on 2ft or so. Thin though. And many have grown 2ft total for 4yrs. Didnt lose any to that brutal cold last winter tho some burnt. Ill try to get some pics. I think aghunter has some...?

·
Registered
1,193 Posts
I planted about a hundred in a shady/sunny area. I recall all 100 showed up in a small box. I was skeptical but threw them in the ground about 4 to 5 years ago. When they got to about 2 to 3 feet the deer hit them pretty good. I didn't lose any but it knocked them back pretty good. Full sun is certainly preferred and they will grow 3 feet per year in full sun. I will try to post some pics. Full sun ones are 15 feet tall. Partial sun about 10 feet tall and basically the shaded trees are 5 feet tall. Deer don't touch them now.

·
Registered
1,193 Posts