Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
7,602 Posts
Do you have a designated route?
I presume you have run it in previous years? If so, would be interesting to see how the numbers stack up.

BTW, shining is a blast! (No gun, and no pun intended.)
I was in the UP Monday- Wednesday for work and had time to kill in the evenings.

I took my spotlight up hoping to find someone to shine with. No takers.

·
Registered
35,254 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Volunteers are given a route by the biologist which can be modified. The routes are about 12 miles in length and are the same from year to year. Annual data is compared per route and graphed. It does produce a noticeable trend. Some routes produce up to a few hundred sightings while others into the low double digits. Mine is usually 100 plus. I’ve been posting my results for 4 years now. My route ends at a M-S members driveway so he always gets a heads up on what is in the fields by his property, two years ago they got one of the bigger bucks I would see.

A friend saw 5 wolves last weekend while out with the spotlight. Woodcock, Fox, coyote, skunks and owls are common sighting.

·
Registered
324 Posts
Anything promising to report back? How's the deer population looking this year? What about the wolves? Going to stop at a friend's camp north of Newberry the week before the opener on the way to the west end and we'll bow hunt a few days. I'm sure we won't see a lot but it's always a great time. Just doesn't seem to be many deer up that way.

·
Registered
35,254 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I ran my route for the first time this evening. 102 spotted over my 12 mile route. Deer were scatter with no larger groups. I started at 8:00 finished by 9:00. No bucks observed most were bedded in the open fields. Weather permitting I run it again next week starting at 9:00. I will probably run it a total of 4 times. I usually start at 10:00 near the end of the month.