Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been fishing the SCR for quit a few years now and this is by far the worst year for fish numbers. We're using the same techniques, fishing the Algonac/South channel area in the same places, using the same colors that we used in past years and having limited success this year. In past years, the fish have always come with relative ease. Last year in 14 trips to the river, we boated (2/3 guys) on average 12 fish per trip with several limits (I kept records). This year we're about half that with no limits. One thing is for sure, the fish seem to be deeper this year. Any one else experiencing the same thing?

·
Banned
999 Posts
Nope no problems here I fish Algonac all the time this year has been awsome , did really good in April and May probly caught at least 100 walleye just jigging and another 50 or so dragging crawlers the past month 😝

·
Registered
2,497 Posts
When I was jigging I still caught plenty of fish but "LIMITS" didn't come as easy as the last 10 years.Now that I'm whipping I can not limit and the last few years the whipping has been incredibly easy.And yes the fish have been deeper.Good Luck

·
Registered
32 Posts
Well sorry to say but, I'm glad to here that others that have fished the SCR for years have had some issues catching eye's this year.
This is only my second season fishing it. Mainly I fish up river from about Sombra/Marine City to the mouth of the river at Lake Huron mostly Stag Island area. I fished the South Channel last summer out front of Seaway Island drifting harnesses with quite a few successful days(limits) I usually am fishing on my own.
The depth change that you mentioned is something I have noticed this year, fishing 30 - 45 fow has been the norm for me this spring so far, but last season I found I didn't have to go any deeper than about 25-30fow.