Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to waterfowl hunting and wondering if anyone can give me tips on what to look for when scouting, other than seeing where they are swimming around, what else do you look for? any help or suggestions are appreciated. not looking for your honey whole, just getting started.

·
Banned
115 Posts
Assuming your talking about scouting spots on the water to hunt...just because there's birds there now- doesn't mean they'll be there come october- and vice versa.

If you want to. Try for woodducks (best early in the season)- look for marshy areas and rivers with lots of oak trees near the waters edge- look for areas that have good cover you could face s-se while hunting. Get ideas on water depths on those spots- are they wadable? Google Earth can be a great tool to get started.

Know there's a good chance you aren't the only one to have identified a spot and expect company....

Years ago when my brother and I were green to the sport, he moved to the mecosta area and wanted me to hunt with him there opening day. We scouted the martini sga all summer and had it ALL figured out. We had NO idea there would be 300 trucks at the ramp when we got there at 4am on opening day and it was like ww3 (haven't gone there since!).

Just grab a fishing pole and jump in your boat and start looking around this spring/summer while your fishing.

·
Banned
37,197 Posts
Start your search in books. Decide what type of duck you wish to learn to target first, I.E. puddle ducks, vs. divers. Then, study the life cycle of several species of each. Learn everything about them. Their pair bonding, breeding and nesting habits. Understand why they migrate and when. Find out what food sources they use during the migration.