Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 9 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have 40 acres in south East mason county. I’ve been doing food plots for several years primarily planting rye, oats and wheat in order to build up organic material in the soil. I typically do no till or at most pull the disc around with the discs straight. The soil is pretty much blow sand and I have access to all the saw dust I want, mostly oak and maple. My question is, have any of you used saw dust to build organic material in your plots? Does it have an affect of soil ph?

·
Registered
35,278 Posts
Adding sawdust is counter productive for building soil. It ties up nitrogen and raises ph which is two things you do not want. Nitrogen is required to feed the soil microbes which are required for breaking down the cellulose and carbon in the sawdust robbing it from what you are trying to grow.

·
Registered
850 Posts
While Luv2hunteup is correct about the chemistry of adding sawdust to your field those things are easily countered by adding lime and nitrogen to your plot. The advantages out way the costs because you are gaining humus and moisture retention like nobodies business. In fact I built six raised beds using a mixture of sawdust (chainsaw residue) and top soil. The soil is so soft I don`t need to turn over the dirt to plant in it. I also used a lot of ashes from the burned wood cut up with the chainsaw and have dumped many loads in my food plots.

In my opinion you can no go wrong by adding organic matter to your fields as long as you dont add too much at one time.

·
Premium Member
12,768 Posts