Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need to vent. I had a Rutger .44 mag carbine that was jaming on me. took it to the local gun smith advised him if it could be fixed to cycle properly would like to put a red dot scope on it. I'm losing the iron sights in low light or thick brush. Told him I have no experience with red dots, what does he recomend? Well he calls me back and says it's all ready to go cycles good and he put a red dot scope on that will remain nameless. Well I put about 15 rounds through it and no more red dot. Battery dead right, nope I tried two different new batteries, nothing. Well I called the gun smith and he told me that I would have to send it back to the manufaturer. Now this is a scope he picked out and sold me and mounted, even after I advised him not to skimp or put any thing cheap on there $ is not an issue. Great openig day four day's away and still no low light level ability.

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
You Should have had this done ALLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG time ago.

People waiting to have work done on a gun just b-4 the season starts allways rubs me wrong.

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Or he could have put on a top quality scope and not the cheapest ones out there. I just checked and the one on it is the cheapest no name brand available. I see you get what you pay for but that is not what I asked for.

·
Registered
1,356 Posts
Maybe the gun wasn't jamming a long time ago. I would contact the smith and see what he could do about putting another new scope on that works. Tell him you need it now, not 2 months from now. Whatever happens, I wouldn't go back to that guy.

·
Registered
450 Posts
ARCHIE H.
I advised him not to skimp or put any thing cheap on there $ is not an issue.