Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
3,401 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do you see yourself as a big lake fisherman? We have a lot of different levels of experience here. We've got guys who've been doing this for 20 years, charter captains, and once-a-month types.

I consider myself a good amateur. I know all the techniques but haven't mastered many of them yet. I seldom get skunked, but I seldom limit out either. (The ports I fish has something to do with that too.) I have fun fishing, and I love to talk shop here.

I'm a tight-wad with my money too because the more I stretch a buck the more crap I can buy.

I am not an expert by any means though. I don't fish 100 days a year. I have next to no tournament fishing experience. I don't and can't run 13 rods at a time. I'm still learning the finer points of some presentations and I haven't run things like wire dipseys and lead core enough to really be comfortable with them. I have enough tackle and gear to get by, but some of you post pictures of your rigs and your tackle collections and I'm in awe. Someone here mentioned they had 2000+ spoons. I don't have 200 and I thought I had a lot. I have like 20 flies and I've tied 75% of them using supplies I bought at Hobby Lobby. I've got enough to tie another 20 or so, but I can't think of any more patterns to tie.

That's why I consider myself a good amateur. Anyone fishing for a day on the water with me will probably catch a few fish, but I don't have nearly the amount of experience some of you do.

·
Banned
4,684 Posts