Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,596 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I did quite a bit of shooting last Monday in preperation for the Early Antlerless Season. I brought my T/C Omega (which I hunted with last season for ALL of the firearms seasons). I also brought my trusty .30/.30 Marlin (with over a dozen kills to her credit).

I'll start with the smokepole. I'm still quite new to the muzzleloading game. My previous setup was T7 pellets, T7 primers, 250 XTP, with a 3petalEZ sabot. I've been wanting to try the new BH209, so I broke down and bought a jug. I also wanted to try some 300 XTPs as the reports I've heard from BH209 shooters is that there is little velocity penalty when stepping up from 250 to 300. I started off at 50 yds with 90gr (vol) BH209, 300gr XTP, HPH-24 sabot, and a W209 primer. First shot punched out the center, second shot touched the first shot. Sweet. Time to move to 100yds. I did switch sabots for the next shots because the HPH-24's were very difficult to load (I have a really tight barrel). The next 5 shots at 100 yards were all within 3 inches and grouped about 3" low. I re-zeroed the scope to be dead-on and 100 and took 3 more shots. The first punched out the center. the second shot 1" left, the third touched the first. I intended to work-up a powder load with 90 being the starting point, but I decided I would leave it right there. Keep in mind that at no point did I swab the barrel. No problems loading using the 3petalEZ. This set-up exceeded my expectations as I am admittedly not a very good shooter. I did not clean the the gun until Wednesday night. No rusty patches and clean up was easy with Hopps #9.