Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
625 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a lab that's 6.5 years old now. We started hunting last year a bit and really got into this year. She has no formal training but unbelievable natural ability in the field. She doesn't range to far and she isn't a boot hugger, however, I get the feeling she doesn't really know what she's looking for. We made a connection late in the first season and I'm really looking forward to the second. I'm wondering what steps I would take in the off season to teach her to "know what she's looking for"? I have zero knowledge in the dog training area so I suppose some books and maybe a few videos over the winter...but, can an old dog learn new tricks?

·
Registered
2,130 Posts
Get the dog a lot of birds. Don't count on a finished dog, but there's no reason the dog can't be a decent hunting companion.

·
Registered
681 Posts
:yeahthat:

The more birds the dog's on, the quicker he'll get it.

·
Registered
3,274 Posts
Let's get together after the deer season. I know where to find some birds around here, and my Lab is also a slow/close worker. But he is birdy as hell and knows what the game is all about.

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
Dogs are never too old to learn. I think that in many cases the older dogs catch on quicker than young ones. I work a lot with older rescue dogs, and it is always amazing how much the older dogs love to learn new stuff. And, like everyone else is saying, birds, birds, birds.

·
Registered
60 Posts