Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Banned
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is this an average bear, I heard that if a bear is up to the 2nd line on the barrel he's around 200lbs.

So since this guy is up to the 2nd line is that about right 200lbs, give or take a little, just want to make sure on all that I can.

·
Registered
1,813 Posts
Im no pro on guessin a bears size but he dont look 200 to me maybe a 100 but think about it the second line on a 55 gal drum really isnt that high off the ground.

·
Registered
2,516 Posts
Brohonson

I am no pro at guessing a bears weight, the adrenanline gets kicking, and my reasoning skills take a hike. But the 2nd ring on the barrel isn't always the best indicator. When I hunted in Saskatchewan a couple years ago the owner of the outfit and I talked about this very subject. I mentioned looking at the height of the bear against a known reference, and Sam said he wasn't a big fan of that method, but it could be used as part of the equation. He told me to look at the bears ears, big ears equals small bear, a bigger bear will have some space between his ears, and it's ears will appear to be more on the sides of it's head, not right on top. He said if it's ears look like a German Shephard it's not a big bear. He also told me to look at it's belly line, a big bear will have a sagging belly. And to consider the height, but not to make my determination solely on that factor. The thing is a sow can come up to the second ring, and still only weigh a little over 100 lbs. they just aren't built like a boar.