Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4,305 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is the part that gets my goat!! I have been hunting in Iowa for the past 18 years. In that time I have seen the whitetailed deer population explode in the areas that I hunt. However the hunter population at least that of the locals has stayed light. My point is this, there is a wonderful herd of deer in Iowa and it is growing. There are vast tracts of privately owned land that farmers would practically pay people to hunt. I have seen incredible bucks in just about every section that I have hunted, and people are saying things like "if I could afford to hunt there!" This is not a $10,000 dollar hunt, all it takes is some leg work getting permission and a $250.00 dollar tag.

The next thing is this!!! The word ranch, in Michigan the word could be defined as a small one story brick house built on every prime piece of phesant cover in the SLP. :rant: In Iowa, or Wyoming, or any of the states where the hunting is good!! The definition of a ranch is more like 10,000 acres of prime wildlife habitat used for grazing cattle. No high fences, no tame deer, just space.

I have buddies who watch the hunting shows and see guys in Alberta, or the Milk in Montana and everytime they shoot a deer I hear "well who couldn't do that on a ranch?"

I do not understand how there can be so many uneducated people out there in the woods, it almost scares me.

·
Registered
7,333 Posts
MuskyDan said: