Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this is my first year deer hunting and i have a few questions. when i shoot a deer is field dressing the first step or since i am going to have it processed can i just take it to have it processed? and the second question is where in kalamazoo is the best place for public hunting? thank you for your help...

jay

·
Registered
544 Posts
You deffinetly field dress it before the proccesor. As far as the hunting land I cant help ya Good luck

·
Registered
4,553 Posts
this is my first year deer hunting and i have a few questions. when i shoot a deer is field dressing the first step or since i am going to have it processed can i just take it to have it processed? and the second question is where in kalamazoo is the best place for public hunting? thank you for your help...

jay
Welcome to our world, what took you so long? :lol:

I've introduced a handful of newbs to hunting that last couple years and they all loved it. The first question they always ask is, "when I shoot a deer, do I...?" I tell them all the same thing. Shooting a deer is not as easy as on TV, and its only part of the actual hunt. If you actually do shoot a deer your very first year of hunting, consider yourself VERY lucky! The odds are heavily stacked against new hunters due to lack of experience.

My advice, read as much as yopu possibly can about deer and deer hunting. There is alot of good info out there and there is also alot on this forum. Stay safe and good luck!

·
Registered
1,059 Posts

jay
:coolgleam Welcome to hunting, Jay. Field dressing is the second thing you do. The first is to properly mark your kill tag and attach it in the appropriate manner to your game. If you begin field dressing your deer before legally tagging it, you can be fined. It's just a "technicality", but the law says you must "immediately" tag your kill. Just a "heads up" for ya'. Good luck this year and BE SAFE! :fish:

·