Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m new to boats;

I have a 17’ Lund with a 90HP Honda 4 stroke and have a hard time getting the boat up on plane and keeping it there.

I have to trim the motor as far under the boat as it will go and even then if I slow down the bow comes up.

The folks at the local boat supplies and repair shop said that a different prop with a faster pitch will solve the problem, other people suggested trim-tabs.

Any advise would be welcome.

·
Banned
4,684 Posts
Are you hitting your WOT rpms?

·
Registered
2,357 Posts
You don't want to start changing props without knowing the impact on several factors including the maximum RPM of the motor. Before anyone can help you, first we need to know what RPM you are running when wide open with just you in the boat, what the pitch is on your current prop, and what the maximum RPM range is for the motor at wide open throttle. When you know that, come back here and maybe someone can help. Other wise you will get a bunch of responses about moving weight around or other guesses that won't really help.

·
Registered
2,224 Posts
agree with flinch

mtor rpm's

range at wot(specs)

prop? blades/pitch/alum/kind

what hole motor is mounted in?

get this info and myslef or soemone may be able to point into right direction

·
Registered
2,357 Posts
1fife said:
agree with flinch

mtor rpm's

range at wot(specs)

prop? blades/pitch/alum/kind

what hole motor is mounted in?

get this info and myslef or soemone may be able to point into right direction
Some good points. And while we are on the subject, let us know the condition of the current prop, are there dents, is it like new, etc. I am also curious to know what the maximum horsepower is for the hull although it won't help with prop selection. That will be on the same plaque with the maximum weight and passengers.

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·