Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
987 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally found the right boat for me at the right price, I've been looking on and off for over a year for something to get me on the river. I primarily bought the boat to chase steelhead, I'm local to St Joe so that'll be the river I'm on most the time. However, I'll also use it for walleye and smallies and probably to take the kids on some smaller inland lakes for pan fish. The boat is 17' with a 50hp prop on the back, has a 45lb 12v trolling motor and two graphs on board. The only thing it really doesn't have that I might add is an electric winch for the anchor, but that can wait.

Question, for those of you who run your boats all winter as I plan to, how do you drain the engines so they don't freeze between trips? Anyone put RV antifreeze in them?

Any recommendations on places to put in at on the Grand? This is my first fishing boat so I'm fairly new to the whole experience. I live just over an hour south of GR so if anyone feels generous enough to PM some helpful advice on the river I'd appreciate it.

Any other tips for a first time boat owner? Whether it be around winter fishing or not, I'm looking forward to spending more time on the water and hopefully catching more fish.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,672 Posts
Sounds like a nice boat. Congrats!

For draining in winter use?

I see guys at the boat launch fire their motor just for a second.
My dad told me that its not a good idea as it can damage the pump seals. I see a lot of guys do it, so I figure its not that big of a deal. I've done it a few times when it was really cold but just for a second.

Mostly I just tilt the motor down and let in run out. Maybe tilt it up and down and turn it back and forth like that a couple times. Then leave it down while I pack my stuff and clean my fish.
Then store it in the down position when I get it home.

·
Registered
7,598 Posts