Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,099 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found some fresh beaver sign the other day, and want to try to catch my first one.

Mallard has outfitted me with advice, all the proper gear and some of Bogmasters famous castor lure. I'm sure that I'm already dangerous with the advice he gave me....after all, he has caught quite a few beaver.... but I am curious if anyone cares to offer their advice and tips for the castor mound set?

Once thing that particularly concerns me, is having deep snow on top of the mound, hiding it from view of the beaver. Do you need to keep cleaning it off for eye appeal? We are receiving some pretty significant snow dumpage at the moment.

I know I could look all this up elsewhere on the net, but wanted to start here with the local experts.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,786 Posts
I'm no expert whatsoever, but I really like snow because it makes the eye appeal show up so much better. Muc shows up real well against a white background. I doubt I'll be of much help the bogg man seems to know beaver trapping quite well. I just reach into the river and grab a bunch of mud, grass and leaves. Put it in a pile and add caster to the top of it. use some guiding to or theough the trap and walla. Beaver are very territoriall and will try to cover the caster with their own. I use the water, mud and my gauntlet to make the bank look like beaver are useing the approach area, if not at a slide.

·
Registered
2,099 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Cool Frostbite, thanks!

When I mentioned my concern about snow cover, I'm talking about the mound being covered with snow (hidden, buried). I know a black, mucky mound will stick out like a sore thumb against snow, when its first made...but what about after 3+ inches of snow fall on top of it? Do you clean it off every check?

And when the snow depth is deeper than the mound, do you clear the snow away so the beaver can see it from the water? I assume so.

·