Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

first off.

I am new here and want to introduce my self. My name is Jason but plz call me smiley. I am new to ice fishing this year and love it a great deal.

ok now I just bought a yamaha 225dx 3wheeler with a 5x6 utility trailer for only 600 bucks. Problem is it bogs down and is blowing out black exhaust(like its running rich) and pops alot when i rev it up. i pulled the plug and it was white cleaned it and put it back in seemed to do nothing and it didnt run any better. I also took the carb apart and cleaned it, everything looked ok to me but i dont know jack about them really.

It seems like when its popping it might be missfiring but I dont know if it can since it only has 1 cylinder? any help I could get would be very much appeciated.

thank you in advance

Smiley

·
Administrator
27,085 Posts
Don't understand black exhaust and not black on the plug. Sounds like its rich to me. Float is sticking or running rich somehow. Cheapest is to replace the plug then you know for sure the plug its misfiring. Then go from there.

Also I assume you got fresh gas in there with no water in the tank.

·
Registered
2,101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks mike,

I ended up tinkering with this bike last night and with my new handy dandy ohm meter figured out i had a ignition coil problem betweeen the coil and lead that goes on the spark plug. All i had to do was trim the wire back about a qauter inch and put the lead back on then she fired right up. still have to adjust the carb somewhat. I should have done this b4 i ordered that $163 dollar carb....lol oh well live and learn right. Again thanks for your help

·
Registered
674 Posts