Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just started deer hunting last year and feel in love with shooting both a recurve and compound. Used my buddy's Hoyt for the season. But looking to buy a new or used one this year, as I am new to bows I do not know what to look for and what would be the best bow for me? Im sure its like every other sport where there are hundreds of makes, styles, and manufacturers. The problem is I dont even know where to begin:confused: Any help on a few pointers would be much appreciated! Don't know if this will be relevant but I am 5'11 160lbs and don't know if this is the right measurement for draw lengths but from the palm of my hand to quick release finger is 31 inches... Sorry if this info means nothing and I just wasted your time:D

Thanks

·
Registered
3,328 Posts
Find a pro shop near you or make a trip to Jays and shoot as many bows as you can. Jays also sells used bows, usually of pretty good quality too.

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Find a pro shop near you or make a trip to Jays and shoot as many bows as you can. Jays also sells used bows, usually of pretty good quality too.
Thank you, Gander Moutain and Mc Sports don't carry much so I will plan on going to Jays. Is there certain bows to stay away from?

Thanks

·
Registered
7,917 Posts
There is Guathiers and Shooters in TC..
I tend to lean towards Hoyt
BTW I have a 2008.5 Elite GT500 60-70# 29dl that I plan on listing soon

Name doesnt matter its all about how it feels and shoots in your hands

·
Registered
3,328 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
There is Guathiers and Shooters in TC..
I tend to lean towards Hoyt
BTW I have a 2008.5 Elite GT500 60-70# 29dl that I plan on listing soon

Name doesnt matter its all about how it feels and shoots in your hands