Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still fairly new to the food plot world, but I have experimented and have done a fair amount of time studying and reading on this forum and some other sources of information. I have a dilemma that I'm trying to solve and appreciate any and all help. I will try to keep it as short as possible while still providing all necessary details.

My scenario: I have a 1 acre food plot that I planted last year with Tecomate Ultra Forage. I basically sprayed with gly in mid-late July, worked the ground with the cultivator a few weeks later then planted. I saw great success with my first ever food plot and was very happy with the results. The only complaint I had was that the bulbs didn't get as big as they should have. I probably planted a little too late, but having a heavy frost the third weekend of september didn't help either. This spring I was very limited on time and resources as I had a baby due at the beginning of April, so I attempted an early overseeding of clover and chicory. I did nothing to prepare the seed bed due to my circumstances. Needless to say the results were less than desirable. I think the lack of seedbed preparation combined with the spring planting and the drought produced very little clover/chicory, however it did a wonderful job of growing weeds.

My dilemma:

I would like to plant something like Michigan's Ultimate Blend to attempt to recapture the success I had with the Brassica's last year, but also provide a perennial plot that I can easily maintain in the future. I have a backpack sprayer and access to a cultivator and cultipacker, but that is it in the way of implements. The way I see it in my head I have three possible options (feel free to add more if there is something I'm missing: