Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am a student at msu and me and my friends from high school always take a fishing/camping trip to somewhere in the state over the summer, and have been for the past couple of years. We have done the pigeon river state forest twice and once in the the UP. This year we are trying to kick it up a notch and looking for an area to fish and camp for around 5 days that might be a little more secluded or better fishing. Skill level is not an issue and neither is gear, we would prefer places in the greater midwest area and are not opposed to crossing the border, if you can think of anything let me know. I emphasize the fishing part because that is the driving force of what we like to do. Any idea is appreciated, thanks.

·
Registered
17,426 Posts
Isle Royale. You will get sick of catching pike. Coaster brook trout are an option too.

K

·
0 Posts
Just my thoughts - I'd go for the St. Joseph, South Haven, Saugatuck, Holland and Grand Haven area. Again, center yourself amongst the towns and visit each-all within an easy drive. Great beaches, plenty of shopping, activities, lighthouses, maritime museums, fishing..... For more info - use https://travelsites.com/

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
What kind of fishing will you be doing - power boat, rowboat/canoe, stream wading, bank/pier fishing? You’ll get better suited answers if you give us more details.
I was trying to leave type of fishing open ended so people could give different locations that might suit a different type of fishing. We will not have access to a boat, but will be able to have multiple canoes and/or kayaks. Wading in streams in rivers is something also we love to do. We are really trying to find a secluded area to camp and fish, ideally we would be able to head into our site and not leave for multiple days.

·
Registered
7,593 Posts