Michigan-Sportsman.com banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for a female Brittany pup. I'm new to Brittany's, so I'm researching bloodlines etc. I want a 6-8 week old liver and white pup if possible, that ranges fairly close and would make a good house pet also. If any of you have Brittany experience, please help me if you would.
Thanks,
Woody

·
Registered
5,776 Posts
Woody,

First, let me commend you as being a very discerning judge of bird dogs. Brits ARE the best.:D :D That said , here are a couple of random thoughts.

1. Read the "must read for bird dogs" thread here.

2. Be very very careful on picking a breeder. Be sure to hook up with one who breeds YOUR kind of dog - some breed for show, some horseback field trials, some obedience, etc. I'd pick somebody active in one of the Brittany Clubs here in MI. BEWARE the backyard breeder - most dont have a clue.

3. Buy a pup subject to healyh approval by YOUR veterinarian.

Good luck.

Natty B.:D

·
Registered
5,776 Posts
Another point on picking a breeder. Most medium sized and large sporting dogs have some incidence of hip dysplasia (HD) , which is one of the worst problems a hunting dog could have. Brittanys are no exception. Be sure that both sire and dam as well as all four grandparents are OFA certified. If they are , the chances of HD in the pups will be practically nil. GOOD breeders will have already taken care of this important qualification of breeding stock and the "other kind" won't know what you are talking about.

Natty B.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Natty,
I'm aware of the medical problems that I need to check for, I had an English Setter many years ago that had to be put down on his 1st birthday because of serious hip problems. I have bred Springers and Goldens before, and always had hips and eye checks done before using a stud dog.