Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
10,114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What impact would money collected from leasing have on taxes. Would it be considered as income, and if I am now making a profit from land usage, would it affect the property tax on the land?

·
Registered
1,178 Posts
I'm no tax expert, but that should certainly not affect your property taxes.

It would "have to" be counted as income, affecting your income taxes. However, there is some rule that if you only rent a property for a short period of time (can't recall if it is 4 weeks or 4 months...), you do not have to pay income taxes on it.

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
Not a cpa but do have some exp..depends on how the land is zoned or clasified,,if it is farmland and your claiming an agriculture exemption for homestead taxes "18 mills "then when u lease it out you could lose this, lease payments are taxable income....but also could be great write off, costs. depreciation, improvements, on an on

·
Registered
10,114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Not a cpa but do have some exp..depends on how the land is zoned or clasified,,if it is farmland and your claiming an agriculture exemption for homestead taxes "18 mills "then when u lease it out you could lose this, lease payments are taxable income....but also could be great write off, costs. depreciation, improvements, on an on
id

Thats kinda of what I was afraid of.

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
They ask, other income Is how I believe they phrase it
Yeah they ask, but who says the answer has to be yes. It all depends on how you want to bind the contract. Go help him move some furniture and have him pay you the amount on for the lease and let him hunt for "free" sounds like a lot of trouble for something that is fairly common. We used to rent out and rent farm land all the time. Dad dealt with all the financials, I will ask him what we did.

Edit: *I guess you never said hunting*

·
Registered
10,114 Posts