Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
739 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to fly fishing and had a question about lines and leaders. It seems that all lines are about the same besides floating/sinking, and level or tapered, but leaders are much more complex. (i'm sure i'll learn lines are more complicated than i've led on but for now i think i can get by with what i know)

What are your thoughts on one piece leaders vs. tying your own leaders. is there really an advantage to making my own leader out of multiple materials over buying one that's ready to loop onto my line? I've heard castability is an issue, but the one piece leaders ive used dont give me any problems.

Also, where can i learn how to tie leaders. I typically fish for trout with dries but this also do some panfish fishing with popers and pike fishing with streamers. It seems there are so many materials i dont even know where to start.

·
Registered
865 Posts
shanny28757 said:
I am new to fly fishing and had a question about lines and leaders. It seems that all lines are about the same besides floating/sinking, and level or tapered, but leaders are much more complex. (i'm sure i'll learn lines are more complicated than i've led on but for now i think i can get by with what i know)

What are your thoughts on one piece leaders vs. tying your own leaders. is there really an advantage to making my own leader out of multiple materials over buying one that's ready to loop onto my line? I've heard castability is an issue, but the one piece leaders ive used dont give me any problems.

Also, where can i learn how to tie leaders. I typically fish for trout with dries but this also do some panfish fishing with popers and pike fishing with streamers. It seems there are so many materials i dont even know where to start.