Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new at leadcore using it for the first time in Manistee this past weekend. What lb test should I get? What is an inexpensive reel that would work and should I use a 10' rod or will a 8' work? Lastly, how do you attach a leader to the leadcore?

·
Registered
227 Posts
Just me, but I use 27lb.with Penn 49's for 10 and more colors, not level wind, but reliable and fast. 209's would be cheap (and slow) and would take enough backing for 5 colors. Best way to attach the leader is to pull out about 3 inches of lead and put the leader in the sleeve and tie an overhand knot or two in the sleeve / leader.

·
Registered
1,752 Posts
Go with the 27# test. A Penn 209 will hold 7 colors with PP backing. An Okuma Pro CL 452 will hold a full core and is inexpensive. When it comes to the rod, I prefer one with a soft tip and allot of backbone.

·
Registered
1,016 Posts
I think the knot twiceasnice is talking about is called the willis knot....

http://www.upangler.com/leadcore.html

This is the knot I have been tying, haven't had any issues with it yet. It will take a minute or two to get it right, but once you do it a few times it is too easy!!!!

·
Registered
164 Posts
I converted 2 old rigger poles to a 6 color and a 3 color set-up with 8 ft poles and old penn 209 reels and they work but they are slow to crank in a fish and the 6 color is a little low on backing. so some bigger down rigger set ups will work, but something bigger like penn gt320 or better yet a penn gt330 would be be better with 10' pole.
I was just in gander mnt in G.R. tonight and they had 10 color set ups with gt330 all rigged up for around $160.00 and 5 color on gt320 with 10' poles for $130's
my 10 colors are on these gt330's and I do like them. also i've used diawa 57's on other boats for lead and they also work good.

·
Registered
3,166 Posts