Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For spring break I'm going to the UP to check out colleges. :rolleyes: I've decided to make the best of the situation and find out about the fishing! :D Is the first week of April a good time to try for steelhead in Superior's tribs? Will the rivers be frozen? Flooded? Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
Hey spoon, I'm a freshman at NMU and I'm from downstate too. Maybe you'll be spending your college days in the UP too. Anyways I assume your SB is probably the 1st week of april. Thats a little early for the steelhead run this far north as the rivers are generally very high from snowmelt. It all depends on the weather of course, and the fish will likely be in the rivers, only fishing them will be a challenge if the streams are flooded.

·
Registered
1,080 Posts
i fished the 2 hearted a few years back on the first week of may an did pretty good on steelhead. we fished way up stream from the mouth of the river tho.

·
Registered
478 Posts
Fish the mouths if you are here that early hopefully the rivers will be up and you can catch anything from coho, atlantics to steel at the mouths of flooded rivers.

·
Registered
36,747 Posts
Not sure of the dates you are going to check things out but you'll still find plenty of snow the 1st of April. Hopefully mid April you see the snow starting to melt.

Trout opener is sometimes a bust due to high waters from snow melt.

Which schools? LSSU, NMU, MTU or FU.

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the input guys. What schools? LSSU and MTU. And the dates are something like April 2nd through the 11th ish.

·
Registered
36,747 Posts
Bring your snowshoes and snow shovel.

I'm no more than 25 miles SW the Soo and fully expect to have 3ft on the ground by April 1st.

As for MTU I used to live in Ripley which is across the canal from MTU. You'll see the same thing there during your visit.