Michigan Sportsman Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Question about jigging rapala's? Do you alter them in any way remove treble hook or front or back hooks? I have never used them before. Thanx in advance Tim

·
Registered
1,549 Posts
All I do is change the treble hook, going just a little bit bigger.

I was fishing with a friend who is a guide on Bay de Noc one day, and he was kicking my but on jigging raps. I was hooking just as many, but never got them to the hole. He changed my hook size for me, and the battle was on. What a difference it made.

I know alot of guys like to tip them with minnow heads, but I always use mine bare, and will almost always outperform others with me who insist on tipping them.

I also use a very small barrel swivel about 18 to 24 inches above the lure, to keep the line from twisting due to lure movement.

Captain Jay

·
Registered
11,860 Posts
If you are fishing for perch on LSC... you don't have to alter them. Just tip them with a jensen egg or a minnow head and your in business. Blu/slv has been a good color for me.

·
Registered
1,838 Posts
I agree with captain Jay but I go one step further. I cut the back hook off. I had alot of problems with losing fish when the back hook gets caught on the bottom of my hole.

·
Registered
2,068 Posts
A guy 40 yards from me hammered them on a rap tipped with a red Jensen Egg. I used a rap tipped with a minnow head and never had a fish come in...All depends on what the fish want on a given day...

·
Premium Member
6,780 Posts
I love the tiny jigging Rap's for St. clair perch - more than anything else. The only modification I make is to remove the little treble and replace it with a #6 single red bleeder hook from Gamakatsu (sp?). I then tip it solely with an anise ball.