Michigan Sportsman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Question to the veteran jig fisherman: do you use a swivel when connecting your leader to the braided main line or just tie line to line? I would prefer line to line but I’m worried about line twist. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
994 Posts
I’m not a veteran. I’m still learning, but I have tried both. Swivel makes it easy to replace the leader if you break off when you hit a snag and can help avoid line twist. The downside is that you lose a LOT of the feel. Tying on a new leader is easy enough so I skip the swivel.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: Erik

·
Registered
320 Posts
Double uni knot fluorocarbon to braid. I use to run a small spro swivel and a small bead above it to prevent the swivel from passing though the guide. I've had no issues with the knot breaking. Usually the jig breaks at the knot

Sent from my SM-G960U using Michigan Sportsman mobile app

·
Registered
1,234 Posts
Swivel/No Swivel is a personal preference more than performance based. You will probably get a 50/50 split of opinion on this subject. Although vertical jigging is not my go-to method, I prefer the handline, vertical jigging is one of the methods I utilize, so here's my perspective. I prefer a swivel so that I can run about 18" of leader. I have tied 1000s and 1000s of Improved Clinch Knots and can tie them without looking, making it easier for me to tie to the jig head. I have found no difference in sensitivity between the two methods.

As for the leader line I use the guidance wire from an older TOW missile (the newer missiles are RF guided and have no wire). It's 100s of time tougher than mono but ties just as easy. If you have an opportunity to try this as leader line I recommend you do so.

Reactions: Erik

·
Super Moderator
20,295 Posts
I think it's a triple surgeons knot. Been using it for flyline leader to tippet all the way down to 2#

·
Registered
9,763 Posts